Happy birthday, Ellis Bell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While I don’t diminish her other literary works, Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights remains in my top three favorite books for a terrific number of reasons. I didn’t read the book until I was well into my 20’s, but now I seem to reread it each year and am astounded anew at how completely seamless, modern, and effortlessly wrought it is.

I’ve seen only 6 of the film adaptations… there are such a great deal of them. Including non-English language versions, at least 16. It’s a book that seemingly everyone wants to try to obtain and portray the core of.

Hardy’s Heathcliff sticks in my head first, but I think H- is the easier portrayal (though still a challenge to balance the outrage and sensitivity). Cathy is so mercurial and fleeting, I’ve yet to find a portrayal of her I can wholly invest in.

A pilgrimmage to Haworth Village has long been on my to-do list for far too long…